Allman Brothers Band: Fillmore East February 1970 CD

(1 customer review)


  • Includes performances from February 11, 13, & 14, 1970
  • More than 70 minutes of music
  • 12 Page Booklet
  • Rare band photos from these performances.

Allman Brothers Band: Fillmore East February 1970 CD

Bear's Sonic Journals: Allman Brothers Band, Fillmore East February 1970 is a completely newly transferred and mastered presentation of live music from the Allman Brothers Band's 3 shows at the Fillmore East on February 11, 13 & 14, 1970.  The Grateful Dead' legendary soundman, Owsley Stanley a/k/a Bear, captured these shows on his "Sonic Journals" -his working diary recordings that are known for their uncanny ability to recreate the sonic landscape of the venue, placing the listener's ears in the audience at the show.

This is essential listening for Allman Brothers Band fans, as it showcases an early incarnation of the band, with Duane Allman in full form, and features the earliest known live concert recording of “In Memory of Elizabeth Reed,” just penned by Dickey Betts scant weeks before these shows. The band recorded their landmark "At Fillmore East" album a year later at the same venue.

Replacing and surpassing the long out-of-print compilation from 1996... To make this Sonic Journal we went back to Owsley's original source reels and made fresh Plangent processed transfers.  Then Jeffrey Norman mastered a new version, from the ground up, using the most modern technology.  This package includes all new album art and liner notes, including a series of rare band photos from the Fillmore East in February 1970, original cover artwork ("Electric Mushroom"), and new notes from the Allman Brothers Band and the Owsley Stanley Foundation.  (More music and expanded notes are also offered in an expanded Deluxe Edition containing this compilation CD alongside 2 more CDs containing all the source tapes from the three shows).

This is the second release in the award-winning "Bear's Sonic Journals" series, and is the first joint presentation by the Allman Brothers Band and the Owsley Stanley Foundation.

CD Tracklist
1. In Memory of Elizabeth Reed (9:22)
2. Hoochie Coochie Man (6:05)
3. Statesboro Blues (4:17)
4. Trouble No More (4:11)
5. Outskirts of Town (8:30)
6. Whipping Post (8:11)
7. Mountain Jam (30:46)

Additional information

Weight .2 lbs

1 review for Allman Brothers Band: Fillmore East February 1970 CD

  1. tws0000 (verified owner)

    Just the fact that these are available is worth 5 stars. Heard a sample and ordered my CD 10 minutes ago. Excited like a 10 year old on Christmas! Us ABB fans have been jonesing for early “high quality” ABB recordings with Duane for like…forever! The minute it comes in it will be “Honey, gotta take a drive…be back in an hour, maybe two”. LOL Will be back with another review. Thank you Owsley (Bear), Jeffrey Norman and all who contributed.


Add a review